Nether Green Infant School

Foundation Stage 2

Children in our Reception classes learn the skills and knowledge found in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)  which sets standards for the learning and care of children from birth to 5 years old.

The EYFS is based upon four principles:

  • A unique child
  • Positive relationships
  • Enabling environments
  • Learning and development

The children are taught within the three prime areas of learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

And four specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Much of the children's learning is through practical activities and one to one learning with a member of staff. A record of many areas of the curriculum are included in the child's Learning Journey. The children also use two exercise books known as Discovery Book and Maths Book.


The children have a daily phonics lesson, see our Phonics page for more information.


The children learn to read individually and in guided reading sessions. They will read from different schemes including Oxford Reading Tree, Heinemann, Collins and the Dandelion scheme.

Helping at home

Parents and carers are encouraged to help their children at home with reading, writing, handwriting and maths etc. We recommend parents read their child's weekly news letter, sent via email for up dates on how they help each week. Our children also have log in details to access an online learning platform called Purple Mash. 

Term Overviews

To see the current topic overviews please look under:


Foundation Stage










Stumperlowe Park Road
S10 3QP

0114 2304094